US Mid-term Elections – Timeline & Factsheet

0 82

House of Representatives Elections

Voting in the US 2018 mid-term elections begins today at 1 PM GMT across all 50 states involved and will close onwards from midnight GMT at the end of the day. The last closing time for the polls in each state are:

·         19:00 EST (midnight GMT): Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia

·         19:30 EST (00:30 GMT): North Carolina, Ohio, West Virginia

·         20:00 EST (01:00 GMT): Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee

·         20:30 EST (01:30 GMT): Arkansas

·         21:00 EST (02:00 GMT): Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin, Wyoming

·         22:00 EST (03:00 GMT): Iowa, Montana, Nevada, Utah

·         23:00 EST (04:00 GMT): California, Hawaii, Idaho, North Dakota, Oregon, Washington

·         01:00 EST (06:00 GMT): Alaska

Act_TradeIdeas

Voting Results Times

Voting results will be counted as soon as each state’s polling stations close meaning that we will get a steady flow of results starting from shortly after midnight. The first clear picture of the outcome of these results will be from 8 AM GMT on November 7th.

Key states to watch for the House of Representatives

The number of seats assigned to each state is proportional to the size of that state’s population. For example, California, as the most populated state, has 53 seats, while states such as Alaska have just one representative.

The GOP currently holds a 43 seat majority in the chamber and is widely expected to lose this majority to the Democrats in these elections. Currently, there are 236 Republican seats in the house and 193 democrat seats with 6 seats remaining vacant. The Democrats need a net gain of 23 seats to win a majority.

The key states to watch will be West Virginia, California, Minnesota, Texas, and Florida.

Senate Elections

The Senate is also up for the elections with the Republicans currently holding the smallest possible majority of 51 seats in the 100 seat chamber. However, only 35 seats are up for election, most of which are already held by Democrats, meaning the Democrats will be on the defensive and may struggle to gain seats here.

The key states to watch here will be Nevada, North Dakota, Florida and Texas.

Trading the news requires access to extensive market research - and that's what we do best. Open your Orbex account now.

START TRADING

or practice on DEMO ACCOUNT

Trading CFDs Involves high risk of loss

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.